Jlin Readies 'Percussion-Led' Offering

Jlin has announced the follow up to her acclaimed 2015 debut Dark Energy. The globally-conscious electronic artist will release Black Origami May 19 via Planet Mu. Described in the press release as a "percussion-led tour de force," Black Origami includes a handful of collaborators with a huge source of inspiration stemming from Jlin's ongoing efforts with Indian dancer Avril Stormy Unger.

"There is a fine line between me entertaining a person and my spirituality. Avril, who collaborates with me by means of dance, feels the exact same way," she says. "Our rhythms are so in sync at times it kind of scares us."

Jlin describes the true force behind Black Origami, which is readily confirmed by the LP's previously shared tracks "Nyakinyua Rise" and "Nandi."

Black Origami for me, comes from letting go creatively, creating with no boundaries. The simple definition of origami is the art of folding and constructing paper into a beautiful, yet complex design. Compoising music for me is like origami, only I'm replacing paper with sound. 

 She continues:

I chose to title the album Black Origami because like Dark Energy I still create from the beauty of darkness and blackness. The willingness to go into the hardest places within myself to create for me means that I can touch the Infinity.

Check out the tracklisting for Black Origami below and take a listen to the first taste of Jlin's sophomore album with "Nyakinyua Rise" and "Nandi."

Black Origami Tracklisting:

01. Black Origami
02. Enigma
03. Kyanite
04. Holy Child
05. Nyakinyua Rise
06. Hatshepsut
07. Calcination
08. Carbon 7 (161)
09. Nandi
10. 1%
11. Never Created, Never Destroyed
12. Challenge (To Be Continued)


Posted on


Blood Orange Unveils Extended Visual For Trio Of 'Freetown Sound' Tracks
Daley Enlists Jill Scott For Sultry ‘Until the Pain is Gone’
Cathedrals Channels The Pain of Lost Love Into ‘Don’t Act Like A Stranger’